Consciousness

Choosing my #OneWord2012 was easy. Trying to articulate why it was important and how I would live my one word was difficult. At first I began this post in Spanish, since my word was inspired from Latin American thought. But then I was unsure my message would be received with the same intent I wrote it as. I reverted back to English so now need to use Google Translate for this post =).

My #OneWord2012 comes from Paulo Friere, one of the most influential thinkers in education. My word is derived from his idea of Conscientização. Translated into English, the word is Conscientization, or critical consciousness.

As described by Freire, Conscientization is the process of developing a critical awareness of one’s social reality through reflection and action. In developing this consciousness, it is not enough to just gain awareness, but necessary to put this awareness into action transforming society.

With that being said, I was inspired to select Consciousness as my #OneWord2012. As my word for the year, I want to focus on three areas:

Consciousness of the Self

I want to reflect and gain a deeper awareness of my guiding values, strengths, limitations, and aspirations. 2012 will help me get to the core of Eric Felix, not as an end point. I especially want to re-explore my cultural traditions, family history, and continue to develop my identity dimensions. In gaining a deeper awareness of who I am, I also want to be mindful of the way I come across to others. In knowing myself, it will make me more effective in working with others.

Consciousness of Others

I want to understand. I want to listen acceptingly. I want to accept that other peoples stuggles, are my struggles. And by that same token that other people’s success are mine as well. I want to accept that positive relationships are the basis of life. I want to cultivate genuine relationships  and sustain friendships. At the core of this, I ask myself…”How can I provide a relationship in which people can use for their personal growth?”

Social Consciousness

The last of the three is the call to action. I want to be able to use my time on this earth wisely; Knowing I spent every day making the world a better place. I want to use my skills, my experience to move my communities forward. Simply, I want to post less tweets and make more change in the streets.

In 2012, its less personal resolutions and more personal revolutions. That’s the way I see my #OneWord2012.

Leave a Reply

